Email Tips

We have found so many things you can do with your email that many people just don’t realize that we decided to tell you about them. It is not unusual for either one of us to get between 50 and 100 emails in a day from people looking for medical billing information. Often we would need some piece of information that we received in an email but had long since been deleted. It seemed “gone” until we realized there is more that you can do.

The first thing we did was to get better about keeping our email box cleaned out. Michele tries to keep her inbox under 10 items. I’m lucky to keep mine under 30. We accomplished this by deleting items we are sure we no longer need quicker and by building file folders to save emails you will need in the future. You can use your email just like a file cabinet by right clicking on your mouse and moving an email to a folder or subfolder. I keep folders labeled personal, credentialing, Xena, ebooks, travel, etc.

Even with all the folders I use, we still found that we had deleted some information we now needed so we started using the deleted email folder and the sent email folder. At the top of the list of emails you have the option of sorting them by date or by to or from. I can’t tell you how many times this has saved us from a potential problem. We found that by going into the deleted file or the sent file we could generally find what we needed by sorting by either date or from.

Another suggestion I would make is to check your junk email box at least once a week and permanently delete it. I can’t believe how many legitimate emails I find in my junk box. If I send out an email to our email list announcing a new book and anyone clicks reply it almost always goes in my junk email. It only takes a minute to quickly check the contents and delete them.

One Response to “Email Tips”

  1. Barbara Griswold, MFT, author, Navigating the Insurance Maze: The Therapist's Complete Guide to Working With Insurance -- And Whether You Should Says:

    I thought at first that talking about e-mails was sort of “off-topic” for a medical billing blog. But I must say I immediately took your advice. I had 650 e-mails in my inbox, and don’t have time to go through and delete everything I should, so I sorted the most important ones into folders (like “school stuff” “practice” or “public speaking”), and the rest I just put in a separate “Saved Mail” folder, so I can go back to them if needed. I now delete or sort each new e-mail as it comes in, with my new goal of keeping no more than 10 in my mailbox. I’m loving it! Thanks for the reminder to do this! It is very freeing!


Leave a Reply

