Providers Come and Go

Sometimes it is easy to get discouraged in this business by providers who choose to stop using your service. Recently we’ve been seeing posts on our forum about billing services losing clients due to EMR. It is sometimes difficult to not take these setbacks personally and get discouraged. But you really shouldn’t.

In this business there are always providers who come and go. Some providers will stay with you for many many years but some will leave for reasons you may find very foolish. Personally Alice and I firmly believe that everything happens for a reason and God is in control so we truly don’t let it bother us. Who wants to mess with God’s plan?

We believe that the providers that leave are meant to leave and they leave for a reason. That doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing or that we don’t wish them well. We’ve always tried to be extremely cooperative when a provider leaves whether they are going to do it in house, or switch to another service. We always do the best job possible and so it’s pretty easy to keep our heads held high. Occasionally we get a provider that leaves and makes it difficult to end on friendly terms. We just try not to lose sight of who we are, and keep our level of professionalism.

So if you recently have lost a provider, take a look at your systems and the service you provide. See if there was anything you could have done differently to make things better, and move forward.
Use it as an opportunity to improve yourself. Many times it has nothing to do with the job that you were doing so try not to take it personally.

6 Responses to “Providers Come and Go”

  1. Claudia Says:

    I’ve just lost a provider due to his transferring to EMR and bringing the billing in house. They made it clear that they were happy with my service but that they felt this new direction was best for their office. It never feels good to lose a client, but having worked in a physician’s office prior to starting my billing service, I know the pros and cons of both in house and outsourced billing. It’s all a matter of what works best for the provider and they are all so different!

  2. Kathryn Says:

    What timely encouragement! I am facing losing a long-term client and my main source of revenue. I have been feeling stressed about it, but you put it all in perspective. Thank you so much for this article!

  3. Claudia Says:

    A couple of years ago I lost my biggest client. He was over half of my income and I had been doing his billing for over ten years. Through his own financial mismanagement (he was making good money, but spending it foolishly), he ended up in trouble and quit paying me. I finally had to terminate our business relationship after a few months of nonpayment. He ended up filing bankruptcy and I’ll never see the $10,000.00 he owed me.I was extremely concerned that I would wind up in the poor house! But gradually, I acquired several new, smaller clients and have been bringing in about as much as I had been when my big client was paying me. Now that I’m losing this recent one to EMR, it will be a little tight again, but I firmly believe God has brought me the work I need when I need it. I have never had to market myself, other than the first year and also having my business listed in the yellow pages. It probably helps that I am in a small town area and there is only one other billing service in the local yellow pages, but I still believe God’s hand is in it all!

    • solutionsmedicalbilling Says:

      Claudia,
      We had a similar situation. Our largest client had an extremely dysfunctional office and his wife (also a dr) and office manager didn’t like us. The office manager didn’t like us because we suspected she was robbing him blind and the wife didn’t like us because she was friend’s with the office manager (who was stealing from her??). Anyway, veeeerrrrryyyyy long story short, we got fired quite unexpectedly and without proper notice (before we wrote our contract book and had a good contract!). It was a big hit. Took us a couple years to recover. The funny part is that when we took over his receivables went from $40000 to $100000 in 60 days without taking on any addt patients. When we got fired it dropped immediately to $60000 (per month). I kept in touch with him and he told me about it like I would have sympathy for him. I laughed. He said “why are you laughing at me?” I said because you could change it in one instance but you don’t. Anyway, point of the story, we did an awesome job and brought in what he deserved. We got fired, the OM is still employed, and the new biller in our opinion is obviously not doing her job. There is no moral, just that when you do trust God, you may not understand why, but it always works out. We recovered and I truly believe we are better off. The account was kind of a nightmare. Now we have a better contract, and are choosier! 🙂

      http://www.solutions-medical-billing.com
      http://www.medicalbillinglive.com

  4. Claudia Says:

    I know what you mean! My client had been a nightmare from the start, but since it was half my income I was always to afraid to drop him. Life is a lot easier now. I much prefer the several small clients over a big account now because if something goes amiss, it’s not such a big deal.


Leave a Reply

