Taxonomy Codes on the New CMS 1500

Some insurance carriers are just beginning to require the use of taxonomy codes on insurance claims.  Our local Blue Cross Blue Shield recently sent us a notice that taxonomy codes must be reported on insurance claims effective June 16, 2014.  Claims submitted without taxonomy codes will be returned according to BC/BS.

This is just the very beginning of the requirement of the taxonomy code, but we will see more insurance carriers jumping on board.  A taxonomy code is a national specialty code used by providers to indicate their specialty or provider type.

There were many new changes that went into effect this year and it is crucial that all offices keep up with these changes to insure a consistent income.   Taxonomy codes for each provider can be obtained on the NPI website by doing an inquiry on the provider you require the taxonomy code for.  Taxonomy codes should be entered in box 33b on the CMS 1500 claim form.






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s